如何避免非法解雇:六条黄金法则

calendar 九月 6, 2022

说再见是很难的。向员工说再见不只难,有时更会有面临不当(非法)解雇索赔和诉讼的风险。

加州采取”自由雇佣“(At-will Employment)原则,公司可以基于非歧视性、报复性或违反法律的原因,在任何时候解雇员工。尽管如此,如果对解雇程序没有足够的了解,以及在解雇时不小心犯下错误,可能会导致员工对你的公司提出不当解雇的诉讼。

以下是避免不当解雇,并确保顺利、友好的告别的方法。

1. 态度温和,实话实说

解雇员工对双方,尤其是被解雇的员工,是有压力的。无论解雇的原因是什么,雇主都应该在整个过程中表现礼貌、态度温和。这包括给员工一个明确的理由,说明他们被解雇的原因、在解雇会议前提出警告,并在会议上使用有同理心的措辞。

实话实说也很重要。雇主可能为了避免尴尬而省略雇员表现的某些信息,但如果雇员因此在后来质疑被解雇的决定是不合理的,缺乏准确和简洁的解雇理由便会是一大错。

2. 公平和一致性

公平和一致性在这里是相辅相成的。首先,出于许多原因,在员工在的整个就职生涯中保留一份档案记录都是一个好主意。当与员工就解雇问题进行沟通时,拥有明确记录着雇员的不当行为和表现不佳的文件,再加上与这些记录一致的解释,会使解雇这个决定本身不那么令人惊讶。此外,不当解雇诉讼的结果往往取决于雇员是否有能力证明雇主的解雇理由不准确、不一致或不真实。在这种情况下,雇员表现和行为的一致记录将变得至关重要。

雇主也应将第三人的眼光列入考量。此次解雇是否公平?是否存在不公平的风险,或甚至是歧视员工的风险?若员工因为不当行为而被解雇的,雇主应考量之前是否有类似的情况,当时的处理方式是否有不同?为了解答这些问题,给员工解释的机会是很重要的。雇主应彻底调查不当行为的案件,了解员工表现不佳背后的原因。如果需要,雇主可以随时叫来证人,并确保这些谈话有适当的记录。

3. 遵守(所有)法律,适时寻求协助

联邦就业法一年四季都在变化,各州的就业法也大不相同。对这些法律不够了解可能会导致企业无法合规,增加不当解雇的风险。

降低风险的方式之一是让雇佣法律师参与人事调动;他们可以帮忙审查解雇程序,确保公司一直都遵守了最新的州和联邦法律。

对公司来说,评估每次终止合同所产生的潜在法律风险也是至关重要的。根据联邦法律,雇主禁止因种族、性别、国籍、年龄或妇女怀孕而解雇员工。此外,加州法律严禁基于性别认同和性取向的歧视。

该员工是否属于这些受保护阶层?是否残疾,或者休过保障假期?该员工最近是否在公司内部提出过投诉?即使解雇理由与上述因素没有任何关系(通常是没有关系的),员工如果对被解雇的事实感到困惑、不理解或不安,仍有可能提出歧视索赔。为了避免这种情况,雇主可能会想在解雇前咨询律师专业建议。

4. 坚守程序

对不当解雇诉讼的最好辩护是始终如一地遵守公司的人事政策和程序;这些政策和程序应该是清楚写下,并统一商定过的。

员工最初加入公司是所拿到的员工手册中,应清楚列出这些政策。同样重要的是获得员工的签名,表明他们已经收到、阅读并同意这些人事政策及程序。

在处理员工解雇时,公司可以参考这些政策并制作检查清单,确保解雇有理并且公平的。某些情况下,公司可能偏离协议,为员工做了一个例外。例如,员工手册里可能有一个针对出勤和无故缺勤的纪律政策。如果公司将此作为终止雇佣关系的理由之一,但却在早些时候对另一名员工的同样违法行为睁一只眼闭一只眼,那么可能就要面临诉讼了。

5. 为会议做好准备

在所有的准备工作完成后,便是说再见的时候了。终止雇佣关系的会议对在场的每个人来说都是不怎么舒服的,所以事先做好准备,会对“友好分手”有些帮助。

如果可能的话,与员工面对面谈话,并在会议前就决定好必须出席的人员,以及谈话的内容。这里的关键词是“尊重”。在会议期间,雇主应以简明、准确而又予以尊重的措辞说明解雇的原因。重要的是要记住这次会议的目的;没有必要再去训斥或惩戒员工、情绪激动,或提供过多的不必要信息。

你应该利用这个机会解决他们的任何问题或担忧,并清楚地讨论任何应计工资、未支付的加班工资,以及他们可能获得的任何福利。如果在这次会议上留下模棱两可、未处理的事件或未解决的问题,可能会导致员工的不满,或引起不当解雇的官司。

6. 别忘了付钱

即使员工遣散的情况是极其突然或使人不舒服的,雇主也应该确保公司适当,并且及时地支付了所有应付的款项。

这包括最后一份工资,任何累积或未使用的假期,还有(如果适用的话)加班工资或佣金。在某些情况下,公司可能会考虑支付遣散费。如果公司在终止合同时未能支付这些款项,可能会需要支付高达未支付款项三倍的金额,并面临不当解雇诉讼的风险。

与员工说再见可能永远不会变得容易,但上述六条黄金法则可以帮助避免错误解雇的索赔,并减少前员工解雇后产生怨恨与不满的几率。

 

9月28日星期三上午10:00至11:00與我們的特邀演講嘉賓Jason T Yu 一起加入我們瞭解避免錯誤解僱的最佳做法。

chinese webinar wrongful termination side banner - 2 (1200 × 1200 px)

Register Now

 


本文章中的内容并非法律建议,仅作为信息参考之用。对于可从通过本网站访问或链接到本网站的第三方资源中获得的任何内容,Combined公司概不负责。

SHARE

How to Avoid Wrongful Termination - Six Golden Rules

calendar September 6, 2022

Saying goodbye is hard. Saying goodbye to an employee is not only hard, but can sometimes risk wrongful termination claims and lawsuits that follow. 

With California being an at-will employment state, employment can be terminated at any time, with or without cause, as long as the reasons are not discriminatory, retaliatory or against the law. With that said, not enough knowledge regarding the termination process, as well as the careless mistakes made when terminating an employment, can lead to employees filing wrongful termination claims against your firm.

Here are 6 ways to avoid wrongful termination and ensure a smooth, amicable goodbye.

1. Be Compassionate, but Candid

Termination is stressful. For both parties, but especially the employee. No matter the reason for discharge, it is important to be courteous and compassionate throughout the process. This includes giving the employee a clear reason why they are being let go, providing warnings prior to the termination meeting, and using empathetic language during the meeting. 

It is also important to be honest. It might be tempting to omit certain information regarding the employee’s performance to “soften the blow”, but if the employee later on challenges this decision as unlawful, the lack of a precise and concise reason for termination might be used against you.

2. Be Fair and Consistent 

Fairness and consistency go hand-in-hand here. First, it is a good idea to keep a file throughout the employee’s career at your firm for many reasons. When communicating with an employee regarding termination, having the paperwork that clearly documents an employee’s misconduct and underperformance, paired with explanations that are consistent with these records, makes the termination itself come as less of a surprise. Furthermore, the outcome of wrongful termination lawsuits often depends on the employee’s ability to prove that the employer’s reason for termination is inaccurate, inconsistent or untrue. In this case, consistent records of the employee’s performance and conduct become critical.

Employers should also consider how they look from a third-person’s perspective. Is this termination fair? Are there risks of unfairness, or discrimination even? In cases of discharge for misconduct, were there similar situations before that were handled differently? To help find the answers to these questions, it is important to give employees the chance to tell their side of the story. Investigate cases of misconduct thoroughly, understand the reasons behind employees’ poor performances. If needed, you can always call in a witness, and make sure these conversations are properly documented.

3. Comply with (All) the Laws, Ask for Help if Needed

Federal employment laws are changing all the time throughout the year, and state employment laws vary greatly. Unawareness of these laws can cause your business to fail in compliance, increasing the risk of wrongful terminations. 

It might be a good idea to involve an Employment Law Attorney who can help review your procedures for employee termination, and ensure that your firm is complying with the most updated state and federal laws, when applicable. 

It is also crucial for firms to assess the potential legal risks that arise with every termination. Under federal law, employers are prohibited from firing an employee due to race, gender, nationality, age, sex, or pregnancy. In addition, California state law bars discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation.

Is the employee a part of any of these protected classes? Is the employee disabled, or has the employee recently taken a protected leave? Did the employee recently file a complaint within the firm? Even if the termination has no relation to any of the aforementioned factors, which is usually the case, it is still possible for an employee who is confused, unclear or upset about the termination to file a discrimination claim. To avoid this, you might want to consult an attorney before termination. 

4. Stick to the Protocol 

The best defense against a wrongful termination claim is to consistently follow your company’s personnel policies and procedures, which should be clearly written out and uniformly agreed upon.

These policies should be stated in the employee handbooks that are given to employees when they first join the company. It is imperative to obtain employees’ signatures, indicating that they have received, read and agreed on these employment policies. 

When handling employee terminations, companies can then refer back to these policies as a checklist, making sure that a discharge is warranted, and that they are treating the employee fairly. There might be cases where your form deviates from the protocol and makes an exception for an employee. For example, you might have a disciplinary policy for attendance and unexcused absences. If your firm uses this as one of the reasons to terminate employment, but has given another employee a “pass” for the same offense earlier on, a lawsuit may shortly follow. 

5. Prepare for the Meeting

After all the preparations, it is now time to say goodbye. The meeting for employment termination is going to be uncomfortable for everyone present, so it would be helpful to prepare beforehand for a higher chance of an amicable parting. 

Meet with the employee in person, if possible, and decide prior to the meeting the necessary personnel present, as well as what the conversation should look like. The keyword here is respect. During the meeting, an employer should state the reasons for the discharge in a concise, precise, yet respectful manner. An important thing is to remember the purpose of this meeting. It is no longer necessary to reprimand or discipline the employee, get emotional, or provide too much information.

You should use this opportunity to address any questions or concerns they have, and clearly discuss any accrued pay, unpaid overtime wages, and any benefits they might be eligible for. Leaving this meeting with ambiguity, unaddressed questions or unresolved issues could lead to the employee’s resentment, or a wrongful termination lawsuit.

6. Pay Your Dues

Last but certainly not least, even if the employee’s departure from your company is sudden or uncomfortable, you should make sure he or she is appropriately paid for all monies due, on time.

That includes the final paycheck, any accrued or unused vacation time, overtime wages or commissions, if applicable. In some cases, companies might also want to consider a severance pay. If companies fail to make these payments by the time of termination, they may need to pay three times the unpaid amount, and risk a wrongful termination claim.

Saying goodbye to employees may never get easier, but the six golden rules above can help avoid wrongful termination claims, and reduce the chance of resentment from a disgruntled former employee down the road.

Join us on Wednesday, September 21st, from 10:00 am to 11:00 am with our special guest speaker, Jason T. Yu, to learn about best practices like these to avoid wrongful terminations.

english webinar - wrongful termination side banner (1200 × 1200 px)-1

Register Now

 


Content within this post should not be considered legal advice and is for informational purposes only. Combined is not responsible for any content that you may access from third-party resources that may be accessed through or linked to this site.

SHARE